Multi-tasking.

Hold on, I’ve got to go start the dishwasher…

Ok, blog time. Lately I feel like I get -20 minutes per day to get anything done. That’s a negative 20. My math students aren’t so good with numbers sometimes, but even they know negatives are no good. When Baby Girl gets older, I would only assume that it may happen at most once a day – in between chasing her around the house and keeping her from electrocuting herself or, worse, putting a really important paper in her mouth.

Eat the bills, but please Lord, don’t let her eat my copy of Cosmo!

So, I’ve been trying to figure out some ways that I can get things done and keep her occupied. I’ve already had to cross off the obvious option, because the husband is trying desperately to finish our patio. Option 1: Hand her to the husband and go drink a Margarita.

But, the closer he is to finishing, the more likely that scenario becomes. It’s going to happen just like that, too. Except one little part… it’d be more like 3 margaritas.

Anyway, multi-tasking. I’ve been trying to figure out ways to do chores AND keep baby entertained. Keyword: Trying. Here’s what I’ve come up with:

  • Carry her: She’s so ginormous that the carrier we have seems a little daunting, but at least I’d get in a workout just by doing my chores. Right? She used to love them when she was teeny. She would snooze away while I did whatever I needed to do. Down side: She weighs a trillion pounds. Or 19ish. Either way, that’s a lot.
  • High chair: Plopping her in the high chair is a little more convenient for my core muscles. If only there was a way to super glue her toys to the thing. She already loves to drop her toys and have me pick them up. Repeatedly. She plays with something for 0.5 seconds and then drops it on the floor for me to pick up. It’s hard to finish a load of laundry if I have to pick up Sophie the giraffe every time I fold a t-shirt. Dumb giraffe.
  • Baby Einstein: This thing works magic, so far. She puts every piece of it in her mouth in succession. Down side: she gets bored pretty quickly. Also, she has one at day care, which is probably why it’s not so fascinating at home.
  • Let the dog babysit while I do whatever I want. Down side: The dog is dumb. Like, run-down-the-stairs-so-fast-she-runs-her-face-into-the-wall-at-the-bottom dumb.

Welp, that’s what I’ve got. I’m going to try carrying her tomorrow… Actually, that’s probably not true. I’m just not going to accomplish anything tomorrow. Or, I’m going to try the margarita thing again! If not, there’s always hope for Saturday. Any advice for a busy Momma? Leave me a message!

Have something to add? Leave a comment here!

